A story needs no introduction …

… but as we all learned from a very early age, it does need a beginning, a middle and an end – much like the story of the marketing campaign for the Montreux Palace’s new restaurant. This was not just a standard press release, but a fascinating story told by Diction’s Storytelling team about a magical midsummer night in which the idea for the restaurant was born.

The client

The Fairmont Le Montreux Palace is one of Switzerland’s most prestigious hotels, and part of the exclusive Swiss Deluxe Hotels group. The five-star luxury hotel on the banks of lake Geneva is a home from home for international stars and notables from across the globe, especially during the world-famous Montreux Jazz Festival. A traditional marketing campaign would not do justice to the hotel’s exclusive ambience – its story needs to be told.

The task

In the summer of 2015, the gourmet restaurant MP’s BAR & GRILL opened at the Fairmont Le Montreux Palace. But there was no big advertising campaign to mark the event; instead the Diction team was tasked with creating something altogether more interesting – a single compelling text that would form the entirety of the marketing material. The text was to be written as a press release that not only contained information about the restaurant’s architecture, design and cuisine, but which also told the fascinating story of the historic building and its famous patrons. And this was a story that was to be told the world over and read by hotel guests, Montreux locals, restaurant critics and connoisseurs of fine dining from across the globe.

Diction’s team were thus faced with the challenge of writing an informative text that also captures the reader’s imagination and entices them into the restaurant.

The solution

We decided to tell the story of the extraordinary events that inspired the concept for MP’s BAR & GRILL – a story of a quite remarkable evening during which the hotel’s staff were dispatched through the Montreux night to somehow source the very finest local ingredients for an impromptu midnight meal for one of the hotel’s world-famous guests. The reader is taken on a remarkable journey through the streets of Montreux and the hotel’s corridors and hallways, and finally up on its roof, where the scene had been set for a sumptuously exquisite midsummer night’s dinner. And they can also become part of the story themselves, as the atmosphere, interior concept and menu for MP’s BAR & GRILL are all inspired by the events that took place during this now legendary night.

The most compelling stories are written by those who were there to experience them first hand. Daniele Pantano, head of Diction Storytelling, spent two days at the hotel, soaking up the atmosphere, walking in the footsteps of its staff and guests, taking inspiration from the restaurant’s future location and, of course, sampling the cuisine The sensational story was first drafted in English by Diction’s copywriters before being translated into French and German, with our in-house translators ensuring it reads like an original in both languages.

The result: The story of this extraordinary fairy-tale evening in Montreux had people throughout Switzerland and across the world talking about the new restaurant, and contributed to a hugely successful opening. An expensive advertising campaign is not always the best marketing strategy – a simple story can often be so much more effective.

Une bonne histoire se passe de publicité

Il était une fois un communiqué de presse d’un genre nouveau qui fit fureur grâce à l’histoire envoûtante d’un restaurant. Cette histoire fut contée par l’équipe de storytelling de Diction qui gagna le cœur des lecteurs en transformant les faits et les chiffres en un récit passionnant narrant la naissance du restaurant.

Le client

Le Fairmont Le Montreux Palace est l’un des hôtels les plus prestigieux de Suisse et fait partie du cercle restreint des Swiss Deluxe Hotels. Cet établissement connaît tous les ans une certaine effervescence lors du fameux Montreux Jazz Festival. En effet, nombre de célébrités et de personnalités élisent domicile dans cet hôtel de luxe cinq étoiles situé sur le rivage du lac Léman. Dégageant une atmosphère exceptionnelle, il appelle des campagnes de marketing ou, pour être plus précis, des histoires tout aussi exceptionnelles.

La mission

L’été 2015 marquait l’inauguration du très sélect MP’s BAR & GRILL au Fairmont Le Montreux Palace. Avait-on prévu une vaste campagne publicitaire? Non. On préférait confier une mission très spéciale à l’équipe de storytelling de Diction: réaliser l’ensemble de la campagne marketing autour de cet événement en rédigeant un seul texte. Mais pas n’importe quel texte. Il devait s’agir d’un communiqué de presse qui évoquerait non seulement l’architecture, le design et les délices culinaires du restaurant, mais aussi l’histoire du lieu et celle de ses hôtes de renom. Ce communiqué de presse devait s’adresser d’une part aux hôtes de l’hôtel et d’autre part aux habitants de Montreux ainsi qu’aux critiques gastronomiques et aux fins connaisseurs du monde entier.

Mais comment s’y prendre pour que les lecteurs soient happés par un texte informatif?

La solution

Nous décidâmes de narrer les événements peu communs ayant donné naissance au MP’s BAR & GRILL: une nuit, les employés du Fairmont Le Montreux Palace avaient dû mettre l’hôtel et la ville sens dessus dessous pour trouver des ingrédients semblant introuvables. Pourquoi? Tout simplement parce qu’un hôte de renommée mondiale avait décidé d’inviter des amis à une fête nocturne. Grâce à nous, les lecteurs ont pu suivre pas à pas les protagonistes de l’histoire à travers les rues et les couloirs jusque sur le toit de l’hôtel dont la terrasse avait été décorée comme par magie pour servir de décor à un magnifique souper en cette douce nuit d’été. Ce faisant, ils sont devenus eux-mêmes des personnages de cette histoire puisqu’aujourd’hui l’atmosphère, le design et la carte du MP’s BAR & GRILL s’inspirent de ce fameux repas.

Pour que les lecteurs croient à une histoire, il faut qu’elle soit aussi un peu la vôtre. Daniele Pantano, responsable de l’équipe de storytelling de Diction, a séjourné deux jours durant à l’hôtel pour s’imprégner de l’atmosphère, retracer les pas des employés et des hôtes, découvrir le chantier du restaurant et goûter les différents mets. La passionnante histoire de l’hôtel a tout d’abord été rédigée par les rédacteurs de Diction en anglais puis traduite en français et en allemand; il va sans dire que les traductions n’ont rien d’une traduction, mais tout d’un conte.

Le résultat: grâce à notre storytelling, l’inauguration du restaurant a été un franc succès. Le communiqué de presse écrit à la manière d’un conte a fait sensation en Suisse et à l’étranger. Oubliez les campagnes de publicité traditionnelles et onéreuses! L’impact du storytelling est beaucoup plus puissant.