A story needs no introduction …

… but as we all learned from a very early age, it does need a beginning, a middle and an end – much like the story of the marketing campaign for the Montreux Palace’s new restaurant. This was not just a standard press release, but a fascinating story told by Diction’s Storytelling team about a magical midsummer night in which the idea for the restaurant was born.

The client

The Fairmont Le Montreux Palace is one of Switzerland’s most prestigious hotels, and part of the exclusive Swiss Deluxe Hotels group. The five-star luxury hotel on the banks of lake Geneva is a home from home for international stars and notables from across the globe, especially during the world-famous Montreux Jazz Festival. A traditional marketing campaign would not do justice to the hotel’s exclusive ambience – its story needs to be told.

The task

In the summer of 2015, the gourmet restaurant MP’s BAR & GRILL opened at the Fairmont Le Montreux Palace. But there was no big advertising campaign to mark the event; instead the Diction team was tasked with creating something altogether more interesting – a single compelling text that would form the entirety of the marketing material. The text was to be written as a press release that not only contained information about the restaurant’s architecture, design and cuisine, but which also told the fascinating story of the historic building and its famous patrons. And this was a story that was to be told the world over and read by hotel guests, Montreux locals, restaurant critics and connoisseurs of fine dining from across the globe.

Diction’s team were thus faced with the challenge of writing an informative text that also captures the reader’s imagination and entices them into the restaurant.

The solution

We decided to tell the story of the extraordinary events that inspired the concept for MP’s BAR & GRILL – a story of a quite remarkable evening during which the hotel’s staff were dispatched through the Montreux night to somehow source the very finest local ingredients for an impromptu midnight meal for one of the hotel’s world-famous guests. The reader is taken on a remarkable journey through the streets of Montreux and the hotel’s corridors and hallways, and finally up on its roof, where the scene had been set for a sumptuously exquisite midsummer night’s dinner. And they can also become part of the story themselves, as the atmosphere, interior concept and menu for MP’s BAR & GRILL are all inspired by the events that took place during this now legendary night.

The most compelling stories are written by those who were there to experience them first hand. Daniele Pantano, head of Diction Storytelling, spent two days at the hotel, soaking up the atmosphere, walking in the footsteps of its staff and guests, taking inspiration from the restaurant’s future location and, of course, sampling the cuisine The sensational story was first drafted in English by Diction’s copywriters before being translated into French and German, with our in-house translators ensuring it reads like an original in both languages.

The result: The story of this extraordinary fairy-tale evening in Montreux had people throughout Switzerland and across the world talking about the new restaurant, and contributed to a hugely successful opening. An expensive advertising campaign is not always the best marketing strategy – a simple story can often be so much more effective.

Eine Story braucht keine Werbung

Es war einmal eine Pressemitteilung. Die teilte nichts mit. Sondern sie lockte mit der ungewöhnlichen Story eines Restaurants. Das Diction-Storytelling-Team machte die Leser zu Verbündeten, versteckte Zahlen, Fakten, Tatsachen in einer spannenden Erzählung zur Entstehung des Restaurants.

Der Kunde

Das Fairmont Le Montreux Palace ist eines der prestigeträchtigsten Hotels in der Schweiz und gehört zum exklusiven Kreis der Swiss Deluxe Hotels. Insbesondere während des berühmten Montreux Jazz Festivals wird das Fünf-Sterne-Luxushaus am Genfer See zur zweiten Heimat für Stars und wichtige Persönlichkeiten aus aller Welt. Das traumhafte Ambiente verlangt nach ungewöhnlichen Marketingkampagnen – oder besser gesagt, nach Geschichten.

Die Aufgabe

Im Sommer 2015 eröffnete im Fairmont Le Montreux Palace das mondäne Restaurant MP’s BAR & GRILL. Gab es eine umfangreiche Werbeaktion? Nein: Das Diction-Storytelling-Team hatte die spannende Aufgabe, die gesamte Marketingkampagne zu diesem Ereignis mit nur einem einzigen Text zu realisieren. Und zwar durch eine Pressemitteilung, die nicht nur zu Architektur, Design oder Kulinarik des Restaurants Auskunft gab, sondern auch die Historie des Orts und seiner berühmten Gäste erzählte. Angesprochen fühlen sollten sich dabei nicht nur Hotelgäste, sondern auch die Einwohner von Montreux sowie Restaurantkritiker und Connaisseurs aus aller Welt.

Wie sorgt man dafür, dass solch ein informativer Text auch fasziniert und verlockt?

Die Lösung

Wir erzählten die Story der turbulenten Ereignisse, die bei der Entstehung von MP’s BAR & GRILL als Inspiration dienten: Angestellte des Fairmont Le Montreux Palace stellen im nächtlichen Hotel sowie in der Stadt alles auf den Kopf, um erlesene Zutaten für das spontane Mitternachtsmahl eines weltberühmten Gastes aufzutreiben. Die Leser folgen den Protagonisten der Geschichte wie auf Zehenspitzen durch die Strassen und Gänge bis hinauf zur Dachterrasse des Hotels, die wie aus dem Nichts für ein prächtiges Sommernachtsdinner geschmückt worden war. Und sie werden selbst zum Teil der Story, denn die heutige Atmosphäre, das Design sowie das Menü von MP’s BAR & GRILL basieren allesamt auf diesem legendären Mahl.

Wer eine Story glaubhaft inszenieren will, muss sie selbst erleben. Daniele Pantano, oberster Storyteller bei Diction, verbrachte zwei Tage im Hotel, um die Atmosphäre zu erfühlen, auf den Spuren von Angestellten und Gästen zu wandeln, die Restaurantbaustelle zu erleben, die Speisen zu kosten. Die aufsehenerregende Pressestory wurde von den Diction-Textern zunächst auf Englisch konzipiert und dann ins Französische sowie ins Deutsche übersetzt – selbstverständlich so, dass sich jede Sprache wie ein Original las.

Resultat: Dank unseres Storytelling war die Eröffnung ein Riesenerfolg. Die märchenhaft erzählte Pressemitteilung sorgte national und international für Aufsehen und Neugier. Eine teure traditionelle Werbekampagne? Unnötig! Die Power des Storytelling löst alles viel unkomplizierter.