A simple way to work with complex text formats

Using our computer-assisted translation tool (or, in short, CAT tool) is such a normal part of our everyday work that we almost take this software for granted. The translation memory saves every sentence we translate and then offers them as suggestions when it recognises similar text in subsequent projects. Furthermore, the tool has a terminology database, in which we store and consult specialist terms and their translations in different languages. This system saves both us and our clients valuable time and resources, and also ensures lasting consistency. But what happens when the format of the text that needs to be translated is so technically complex that even a professional CAT tool is at a loss to know what to do with it? Then we relish the challenge! Just like we did with our client Viacar AG, who we “brainwashed” our software for.

The client

Viacar AG is based in Aarau and supports Swiss driver and vehicle licensing offices with its modern integrated IT solution that encompasses all the important processes, such as vehicle registrations, changes of address or ordering driving licences. The software is an efficient tool that the public can use to take advantage of modern and convenient e-government services.

The task

So far, we have translated approximately 1,000 so-called test cases for Viacar’s software. These test cases contain instructions, error messages, expected values and information in the broadest sense in order to check Viacar’s software. We receive the texts as Excel documents. The text boxes in these documents are embedded in long chains of HTML programming code that is not only not to be translated, but should also not be changed under any circumstances. It looks something like this:

Simple, right? The text that is to be translated appears in each Excel cell twice: the first version should remain in the source language, while the second should be overwritten with the translation in the end.

To ensure our translators can work effectively (and fast!) and our client’s translation memory stays up to date, we work on these complex texts with the help of our CAT tool, as with all our other translations. But what happens to all that programming code in the text? The tool cannot make head nor tail of it: the entire text gets all mashed up in the program and turns into an illegible chaos. Where is the translator meant to start? Or the accounting department? How are you expected to weed through this alphabet jungle and accurately calculate how much of the text is actually part of the translation order? Of course, we do not want to include the code in the calculation, as we will not be working on that.

The solution

We called on our CAT tool specialist and his programming expertise. Our expert has many years’ experience with CAT tools and knows every single secret trick to our program. For this project type, he made the tool undergo a sort of brainwashing, with lots of testing, programming, extracting and fine-tuning. And our expert was successful: the system has now been programmed to “understand” which text passages are to be translated for Viacar’s projects. The CAT tool automatically recognises the programming code that appears between the text and blanks it out. The translators simply have to apply a few special settings to the document in the CAT tool and they can get to work as usual. Finally, when the translator exports the finished text into an Excel document, the program once again includes the programming code, as if by magic.

The bottom line: Viacar AG offers its clients a personalised tool for e-government services, while we, for our part, support Viacar in creating this effective tool with the help of our own customised translation program.

Komplexe Dateiformate ganz einfach bearbeiten

Unser übersetzungsunterstützendes Tool (kurz: CAT-Tool) kommt bei uns so routinemässig zum Einsatz, dass wir kaum noch darüber nachdenken. Das Translation-Memory speichert übersetzte Sätze ab und schlägt diese vor, wenn bei einem späteren Auftrag ähnlicher Text vorkommt. Des Weiteren verfügt das Tool über eine Terminologie-Datenbank, in der Fachbegriffe in den verschiedenen Sprachen abgelegt und abgerufen werden können. Dieses System spart uns und unseren Kunden viel Zeit und Ressourcen und sorgt für Einheitlichkeit – auch über Jahre hinweg. Was geschieht jedoch, wenn das Format des zu übersetzenden Texts technisch so komplex ist, dass er selbst ein professionelles CAT-Tool überfordert? Dann freuen wir uns über die Challenge! So auch bei unserem Kunden Viacar AG, für den wir unsere Software extra einer «Gehirnwäsche» unterzogen haben.

Der Kunde

Die Viacar AG mit Sitz in Aarau unterstützt Schweizer Strassenverkehrsämter mit einer modernen Informatikgesamtlösung, die wichtige Prozesse komplett abdeckt – etwa Fahrzeugzulassungen, Adressänderungen oder Ausweisbestellungen. Die Software ist ein effizientes Tool, durch das Bürger von modernen und komfortablen E-Government-Dienstleistungen profitieren können.

Die Aufgabe

Wir übersetzten bisher insgesamt ca. 1 000 sogenannte Testfälle für die Viacar-Software. Testfälle enthalten Anweisungen, Fehlermeldungen, Erwartungswerte und Informationen im weitesten Sinne für die Überprüfung der Viacar-Software. Die Texte erhalten wir in der Form von Excel-Dokumenten. Die Textfelder in den Dokumenten sind eingebettet in lange Zöpfe von HTML-Programmiercode, die aber nicht nur nicht übersetzt, sondern sogar auf keinen Fall verändert werden dürfen. Ungefähr so:

Alle Klarheiten beseitigt? Gut! Jede Excel-Zelle enthält zudem den zu übersetzenden Text zweimal: Die erste Version soll in der Ausgangssprache bleiben, die zweite Version am Ende durch die Übersetzung überschrieben sein.

Damit unsere Übersetzer effektiv (und schnell!) arbeiten können, und damit das Translation-Memory des Kunden up to date bleibt, bearbeiten wir diese komplexen Texte natürlich wie alle anderen Übersetzungen in unserem CAT-Tool. Aber was ist mit dem Programmiercode, der mit dem Fliesstext verflochten ist? Da versteht das Tool erst mal nur Bahnhof: Der gesamte Text vermischt sich im Programm zu einem unleserlichen Chaos. Wo setzt der Übersetzer da an? Oder die Buchhaltung? Denn wie soll man bei einem Buchstabendschungel noch genau berechnen, wie viel Text eigentlich zur Übersetzung in Auftrag gegeben wurde? Den Code möchten wir ja nicht mitberechnen, da damit nichts geschehen soll.

Die Lösung

Da war das Programmier-Know-how unseres CAT-Tool-Spezialisten gefragt! Der hat viele Jahre Erfahrung mit CAT-Tools und kennt jeden versteckten Winkel unseres Programms aus dem Effeff. Speziell für diesen Auftragstyp unterzog er das Tool einer ordentlichen Gehirnwäsche. Das hiess: ausprobieren, programmieren, extrahieren, herumhantieren. Mit Erfolg: Das System ist nun für die Aufträge von Viacar so programmiert, dass es von selbst «versteht», welche Textstellen übersetzt werden sollen. Das CAT-Tool erkennt jetzt automatisch den Programmiercode zwischen dem Fliesstext und blendet ihn aus. Die Übersetzer müssen die Dokumente nun nur noch mit bestimmten Sondereinstellungen ins CAT-Tool übernehmen, und sie können «ganz normal» übersetzen. Exportiert der Übersetzer am Ende den fertigen Text wieder ins Excel, blendet das Programm den Programmiercode wie von Zauberhand wieder ein.

Fazit: Die Viacar AG bietet ihren Kunden ein ganz individuelles Tool für E-Government-Leistungen, und wir wiederum unterstützen Viacar bei der Erstellung dieses effektiven Tools mit Hilfe unseres eigenen speziell abgestimmten Übersetzungsprogramms.